Pa. Governor, Secretary of Education Speak at Saint Vincent, Present Superintendent Award

by Public Relations | Jan 21, 2019

Br. Norman with Gov. Wolf

LATROBE, PA – Pennsylvania Gov. Tom Wolf and state secretary of education Pedro Rivera were among those who presented Franklin Regional School District’s Jamie Piraino with the 2019 Pennsylvania Association of School Administrators (PASA) Superintendent of the Year Award during a Jan. 17 luncheon at the Fred M. Rogers Center on the Saint Vincent College campus.

SVC Admins with Secretary

Saint Vincent President Br. Norman W Hipps, O.S.B., who serves alongside Piraino on the Westmoreland County Economic Growth Connection, welcomed the audience to the Rogers Center, while other speakers included Dr. Richard Fry, PASA president, Dr. Larry Borland, Franklin Regional school board president and Judy Swigart, Greater Latrobe School District superintendent. An official proclamation was presented by Dr. Mark DiRocco, PASA executive director. Others in attendance included Pennsylvania Rep. Eric Nelson, Murrysville mayor Robert Brooks and Westmoreland County commissioners Charles Anderson, Gina Cerilli and Ted Kopas.

A native of Latrobe, Piraino told reporters that he was especially pleased that the ceremony took place in the Rogers Center. “There’s only one Fred Rogers,” he said. “What he did for kids will impact people for generations, and there’s no better place to celebrate the future of education.”

Prior to the presentation ceremony, Secretary Rivera and Piraino met with Br. Norman, Dr. John Smetanka, vice president of academic affairs, Dr. Nancy Rottler, assistant vice president for student success and retention and Dr. Tracy McNelly, professor of education. Piraino also met with a pair of current Saint Vincent and former Franklin Regional students, sophomore early education major Brie Prodanovich and junior psychology major Mary Kathleen Hurey.

Jamie Paraino with SVC Students


Photo 1: Saint Vincent President Br. Norman W. Hipps, O.S.B., talks with Pennsylvania Gov. Tom Wolf

Photo 2 (from left to right): Dr. John Smetanka, Br. Norman Hipps, O.S.B., Dr. Nancy Rottler, Secretary Pedro Rivera, Dr. Tracy McNelly

Photo 3: Jamie Paraino is flanked by Saint Vincent students Mary Kathleen Hurey (left) and Brie Prodanovich

View the complete photo gallery on the Saint Vincent Flickr account


Twitter: @MySaintVincent
Saint Vincent College 



Upcoming Events More