Awards Presented at Spring Honors Convocation

by Public Relations | Apr 29, 2019

LATROBE, PA - Saint Vincent College presented awards to faculty and students at the annual Spring Honors Convocation held on April 24 in the Saint Vincent Basilica.

President Br. Norman W. Hipps, O.S.B., Ph.D., presented Floyd Nichols with the President’s Award. Finalists for the President’s Award included: Thomas J. Kromka of Monroeville, economics and mathematics; Sarah J. Malone of Gibsonia, engineering science; Nichols of Verona, biology; Benjamin W. Watt of North Huntingdon, mathematics; and Raylen D. Welling of New Brighton, international business.

Honored faculty included: David J. Safin, assistant professor of communication, who was presented with the Quentin Schaut Faculty Award, and Steven J. Gravelle, Ph.D., associate professor of chemistry; who was awarded the Boniface Wimmer faculty award.

In addition, an honorary degree was awarded to the Hon. Maureen J. Lally-Green, J.D. The convocation address was given by John M. Lally, C.P.A., M.B.A., C.V.A.

David C. Stephen of Winter Garden, Florida, was the recipient of the 1968 Fr. Ronald R. Gorka Scholarship Award, presented by Julia A. Cavallo, B.A., M.S., director of assessment and institutional research.

Student Government Association Senior Awards were presented to Courtney A. Kloos of Latrobe; Hector E. Koch of Cumberland, Maryland; Aubrey A. Marquis of Latrobe; Matthew S. Mascara of Belle Vernon; and Kayla E. Schehr of Irwin. The 2019 Student Government Association Administrator Award was presented to Jym Walters, assistant director of campus life/student recreation. The SGA Awards were presented by Joel A. Santoro, president of the Student Government Association.

Awards for Academic Excellence in the Major Field of Study for undergraduates were presented to the following students: Anthony T. Rosso of McKeesport, accounting; Rachel L. Murphy of Greensburg, art education; Chelsea L. Sarring of Delmont, biochemistry; Madison M. Mehlferber of Silver Spring, Maryland, bioinformatics; Taylor S. Easter of Manns Choice, biology; Jill R. Cline of Latrobe, business economics; Lindsey N. Kampas of Elizabeth, chemistry; Sydney K. Schoff of Bel Air, Maryland, communication; John P. Depew of Grove City, computing and information science; Daniel J. Kissel of Latrobe, cybersecurity; Dana N. Ricker of North Huntingdon, early childhood education; Thomas J. Kromka of Monroeville, economics and mathematics; Caitlynd A. Pietrusza of North Huntingdon, engineering science; Mallory L. Truckenmiller of Belle Vernon, English; Nicolas J. Icaruso, of Crofton, Maryland, environmental science; Andrew T. Nickol of Hanover, finance; Abbey A. Gradisek of Mount Pleasant, graphic design; Jaime L. Witham of Ebensburg, history; Ross A. Labuskes of North Huntingdon, information technology; Alison N. Boyer of Jefferson, Maryland, integrated science; Raylen D. Welling of New Brighton, international business and marketing; Julianna C. Notto of Gettysburg, Liberal Arts; Katherine R. Torisky of Pittsburgh (15243), management; Benjamin W. Watt of North Huntingdon, mathematics; Ciara M. Lewis of Buena Vista, middle-grade education; Anthony J. Massetto of Murrysville, music performance; Paul D. Gnatowski of Broadview Heights, Ohio, philosophy; Mitchell A. Bredice of Jeannette, physics; Jessica M. DeLong of Shamokin, politics; Kyle R. Ward of McKeesport, psychological science; Jennifer M. Hogan of Greensburg, sociology; Bailey L. DeTesta of Greensburg, Spanish; Lucille W. Bujdos of Indiana, secondary certification; and Carson D. Snyder of Irwin, studio arts.

Awards for Academic Excellence in the Major Field of Study for graduate students were presented to Kimberly Dickert-Wallace of Ligonier, counselor education; Hannah M. Galvin of Charlestown, West Virginia, curriculum and instruction; Fabio S. Flesik of Greensburg, instructional design and technology; Ramon Fontaine of Murrysville, management: operational excellence; and Alaina D. Aloiso or Pittsburgh (15241), special education.

The following students were recognized for having received A.J. Palumbo Student Research Endowment Fund Awards: Jared D. Ackerman of North Huntingdon; Kaitlin A. Ackinclose of Greensburg; Cody M. Adams of Greensburg; Alyssa M. Baker of Thurmont, Maryland; Carlo N. Borriello of Latrobe; Louis J. BouSamra of Glenshaw; Jessica M. Brinker of Crownsville, Maryland; Victoria A. Burke of Seaford, New York; Madison M. Campbell of McKeesport; Annamarie J. Cardo of White Oak; Morgan M. Casto of Johnstown; Cameron D. Dallessandro of Pittsburgh (15236); Ashley C. Davis of Pittsburgh (15235); Sabrina R. Defeo of Irwin; Rachel A. Dudek of Spring Grove; Ryan T. Farrell of Rochester, New York; Bridget E. Fertal of Lititz; Maria N. Franey of Export; Nicolena M. Girvin of Fayette City; Paul D. Gnatowski of Boadview Heights, Ohio; Kaylee L. Gojkovich of Turtle Creek; Carly Grove of Lorelto; Norina J. Haefelin of Fayette City; Brody W. Halliwell of Indiana; Joseph R. Heath of New Castle; Harry J. Hiles of Isabella; Margaret G. Hines of Pittsburgh (15236); Justin R. Hoffman of North Huntingdon; Stone A. Holtzman of Broomfield, Colorado; Jordan A. Hungerford of Allegany, New York; Nicholas J. Icaruso of Crofton, Maryland; Caitlin E. Jacobs of Perryopolis; Michael C. Kardos of Vandergrift; Christine M. Kovac of Annapolis, Maryland; Paige D. Krempasky of Belle Vernon; Joseph R. LaForest of Shaker Heights, Ohio; Nicholas A. Lange of Pittsburgh (15228); Anh Q. Le of Scottdale; Locke D. Lewandosky of Cave Creek, Arizona; Jordan M. Major of Laurel, Maryland; Aubrey A. Marquis of Latrobe; Jenna M. Matijevic of Grapeville; Makayla S. McCandless of Export; Elizabeth A. McCormick of Stafford, Virginia; Jataevean D. McLean of Clinton, Maryland; Julian P. Metro of Pittsburgh (15236); Megan N. Miller of New Salem; Victoria Nicole Monstrola of Pittsburgh (15239); Alex D. Morgan of Glassport; Alexis R. Mosier of Smithfield; Joseph K. Natali of Bethel Park; Caroline M. Nelson of Jefferson, Maryland; Floyd Nichols of Verona; Mark C. O’Grady of Alpharetta, Georgia; Allison M. O’Rourke of Springfield, Virginia; Katherine Maria Palko of Indiana; Natalie A. Pavlick of Murrysville; Jessica C. Ray-Marino of Vandergrift; Andrew P. Rectenwald of Verona; Aliyah I. Rhodes of Mather; Alex J. Rosa III of Odenton, Maryland; Irina O. Rusanova of Germantown, Maryland; Rachel A. Sarnowski of Bridgeville; Chelsea L. Sarring of Delmont; Sydney K. Schoff of Bel Air, Maryland; Rachel N. Seamans of New Castle; Kaitlin Sherry of Brockway; Bayle E. Shreve of Connellsville; Austin G. Sige of Harrison City; Patrick F. Spollen of Alexandria, Virginia; Moira J. Sullivan of Waldorf, Maryland; Phil Tran of Downingtown; Mallory L. Truckenmiller of Belle Vernon; Theresa S. Vanden Berk of Latrobe; Stephanie N. Vaughn of Clark Mills; Patrick T. Walsh of Pittsburgh (15236); Kyle R. Ward of McKeesport; Benjamin W. Watt of North Huntingdon; Paul F. Weisser of Red Lion; Hannah E. Wheeler of Ellicott City, Maryland; Samuel J. Whittaker of Grove City; Kelly A. Wieczorkowski of Irwin; Arianne B. Winkleblech of Greensburg; Emily K. Young of Frederick, Maryland; and Helena Zrile of Mercer.


A photo gallery with images from the 2019 spring Honors Convocation can be found on the Saint Vincent College Flickr page.



Twitter: @MySaintVincent
Saint Vincent College 



Upcoming Events More